top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

West African print dress


Sssooo, I'm trying not to do any more non-essential clothes shopping at the moment.  I have a wardrobe full or stuff and winter things vacuum packed and I'm planning to pack away some summer things too.  My thinking is that my closet is annoyingly full and I would wear more of my clothes if I could press them and hang them properly.  At the moment there's no point to iron anything, it just gets creased again from the pressure of that closet!  So that's my big plan.  I have to pack for our summer holiday at some point so I can have an afternoon of sorting and then I'll be organised for a few months, until I need to get out some winter stuff again.  Urgh.

Anyway I've seen a few green dresses around recently and have been coveting them, like this amazing Self Portrait one, or this one.  I had a reason to do serious shopping recently as I needed an outfit for my brother's wedding coming up.  But green and weddings, not supposed to be a great combo and I found something else I really love so that's all sorted! 

This Sunday I walked into the lobby of our church and almost straight into a friend of mine, she was setting up her beautiful crocheted toys on the Christian Action stand.  It was Mission Sunday and CA have been running a handmade/crafting group for those refugees who like doing those things.  It's actually really great, having something to do with their hands is quite therapeutic for those who experience trauma.  And the items they make get sold to raise money for the other services they provide to those asylum seekers in need.  There by the stall was a rack of the most lovely colourful dresses made by the group members.  Of course I had to try 2 on.  They fit perfectly but (luckily prehaps) I only had enough cash for one.  So I went for this fun vibrant green.  

I went and did what I always seem to do with something new, wore it immediately!  Monday morning in the office.  But I love it, it's perfect for hot Hong Kong, office (with nicer shoes than I have in this photo) or lunch at the weekend and just generally out and about.  I'll be packing it as the cool cotton has a little crispness to it thanks to the remains of the wax printing.  I have some of this fabric, it washes and washes and that waxiness doesn't go away.  So it packs well as it doesn't get screwed up, just as long as it's folded well.  

My Granny used to always like wearing simple shift dresses, she hated having things on her arms and was quite sensitive to itchy fabrics.  My Mum would make her one every now and again with a tried and many, many times tested pattern.  We think she would have like this one as she liked green.  

I also love it as I've been looking for ways to wear these incredible west African prints since they first came onto the European fashion mainstream about 6 years ago and I always feel like I either look silly or the print I found over whelms my colouring.  This has been a very long blog post to say: I found my perfect summer dress!  

bottom of page