top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Going pineapples

One of my favorite blogs (one of the few I read daily) is by Karen Templar at the Fringe Supply Co. It might be surprising because in many respects her style is not at all like mine but I find her very inspiring. She discusses a lot of slow fashion and many of the inspirations she posts I also love. The recent #fringeandfriendslogalong was/is great fun (I haven't finished mine yet, it's officially a project on hold) I also particularly like how she is building her wardrobe and learning new skills along the way.

Through reading her blog I heard about Tessuti.com an Australian sewing shop, they have a few bricks and mortar stores and everything seems to be on line. You can buy patterns to download, print and stick together. I think Karen used a pant pattern that I like the look of but I need new trousers like a hole in the head so have parked that project for now. Instead I had bought some fun silk fabric a while back with a pineapple print over it so I was looking for a top to make with it. I could easily just do a tank, I can draft simple patterns alright and have a nice swing shape tank pattern but I was quite taken with this Alice dress/top.

I decided to give it a go with the pineapples. It was very easy to print out and stick together. The instructions were clear and easy to follow and with some basic sewing knowledge I kind of knew how to make it up anyway although there were some differences in handling the yoke.

I cut out a size L in the pattern as that's what the measurements seemed to suggest I would want to wear but the armholes are then really to large, they are gaping and I need to wear a camisole underneath. Looking at the model on the site, those armholes are quite neat and fitted.

I think next time I might try the Small, which will probably be tiny and I'll be forced to buy more fabric and make a 3rd! But as you can see from the Tessuti website where they have made a whole lot of different versions, that would not be a hardship. I could live with a lot of these in my wardrobe and I'm looking forward to making it many times. Maybe next time I can do the dress length as I do love a simple shift dress. I also love the stripe linen that they have used on the site, that's very my style with jeans.

bottom of page