top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The meaning of things

As a little girl I loved visiting my Grandmother's house and getting out her jewellery box.  She had a very full life of travel and collected pieces from all over the world.  She also worked as a dresser at an opera house and there were quite a few mementos of various productions that she had been involved with over the years.  Each item in that precious box of hers had a story and I wish I could remember half of them!

A significant portion of my own jewellery collection has come to me from my Grandmother and I love the connection of wearing pieces that she selected and used to wear.  I'm also doing a pretty good job at acquiring my own box of treasures!  I'm someone (as you may be able to tell) who has to be wearing some piece of jewellery or another, if I've been rushed getting ready in the morning and forget to pick up my necklace, bangles, rings...I spend the day feeling like I have forgotten something important. I often think of that quote attributed to Chanel about looking in the mirror before leaving the house and removing one piece, but I've never done it! 

In selling my handmade jewellery at markets in Hong Kong I've had some interesting comments from people and conversations with customers.  Some browsing my stand will be looking for a gift because they never wear jewellery themselves, it seems some how fussy to them or they find it annoying.  Other friends don't wear any jewellery because they just don't know what to wear it with.  

One of my best customers over the years is very much like me, she loves her jeans and T-shirts!  Easy, quick no nonsense dressing.  Each time I met her she would buy another one of my scarf necklace designs because she found them so easy to wear.  She once told me she keeps them hanging up on display so she can easily grab one and go.  How brilliant! 

When I had my son I had to be more careful what jewellery I wore as little fingers like to grab and pull pretty shiny things!  So my earrings have tended to be studs these days, these gorgeous amethyst studs are from SJK  Rocks and my necklaces have been things that can be pulled without damage to me, baby or the necklace! An important consideration!  I've been asked a few times if my rope necklaces were teething necklaces, they aren't intended to be but mine quickly became one when my son started teething!  I think the scarf necklace could be too, just need the right beads to be safe. 

How about you? What's your relationship to accessories? Do you have a few special pieces that almost seem a part of you or are you like me and enjoy wearing something different each day?

bottom of page