top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

There's a hole in my jumper dear Liza, dear Liza...

I pinned this beautiful mending idea many moons ago and was starting to think I might need to buy a jumper and make holes in it to be able to try the idea- kind of defeating the object of, you know, make do and mend, mending something visibly, slow fashion...

This blog, Fringe Association is one of my favorite places to visit for a relaxing and inspiring read. Karen has a wonderful series on Slow fashion Citizens one of the interviews is with Tom Van Deijnen of Tom of Holland @tomofholland. His visible mending takes us back to traditional techniques but in a thoroughly modern way. I almost can't wait for some of my clothes to wear out so I can try these ideas!

Which brings us back to the holes in my husband's merino jumper. When it started to get cool in HK last year we unpacked our winter things and vacuum packed our summer clothes, except that my husband's blue merino jumper had escaped my storage system and had just hidden in the bottom of his draw for the summer. When he put it on we found so many little holes in it and I was so happy! At last, a jumper with holes I can do embroidery on! (Needless to say he was less impressed and not at all sure what I was going on about.) It's also quite fun to have had an excuse to pilfer his wardrobe, now I have a genuine 'boyfriend' jumper.

Save

bottom of page